Invention and Duct Tape

My camera has a long zoom ideal for images of the Sun and Moon. To see sunspots or solar eclipse details requires a safe solar filter. They can be costly. What to do?

I have several free pair of eclipse viewing solar filter glasses. They are made of thin cardboard like some of these. Safe filters are located where a glass lens would normally be placed. How could I attach one of those to the front of my camera lens and safely image the Sun? I looked around and pondered the solution. When I tossed something into the trash under the sink, it dawned on me. The empty orange juice can in the trash might work. I slipped it over the end of the camera lens. It was a perfect snug fit.

Using shears, I cut an opening in the metal end of the can big enough to allow half of one of the eclipse glasses to be fitted over it. Duct tape did the rest. I love duct tape. I now have a safe and secure solar filter.

2016_0417SolarFilter

Rabbits worship this kind of thing.

SolarFilter1

2016_0417SolarFilter1

 

Mounted on a tripod, it is easy to get shots of the Sun centered and zoomed. Here are two photos taken four days apart. Notice the sunspot movement to the right in the second one. The Sun rotates in about 25 days at the equator. It takes longer near the poles.

2016_0413Sun2

13 April 2016

17 April 2016

17 April 2016

10 thoughts on “Invention and Duct Tape

  1. Cool invention Jim! Remember to get out in the dark the next couple of mornings to spot some Lyrids. It could be tough with a bright moon, but remember, spotting shooting stars is like fishing – you sure as hell are going to get skunked if you stay at home! Take care. Bob

    Liked by 1 person

I'd like to hear from you.

