Canon Shots Fired At The Moon

It seemed like a good thing to do. You get a new toy like that and try to shoot something with it. I chose the Moon as my first target. It worked perfectly. Take a look.

2016_0411Moon1

Click any images to embiggen for detail

Next target was Jupiter, not far to the left of the Moon. Got it and three of the tiny specks of light known as the Galilean moons. One of them was in hiding.

2016_0411Jupiter

 

I decided to get a new camera. I used a Fuji FinePix S602 Zoom for the past 13 years. The 6x zoom and dated resolution of the CCD were not giving me the quality of photos I wanted. A lot of my shots were of astronomical events. The 6x zoom was too small. Enlarged images had a lot of graininess from the low resolution. I needed a camera with a longer zoom and high resolution. I decided on the Canon PowerShot SX60 HS. The optical zoom is up to 65x. The image resolution is 16 megapixels.

Like a kid with a new toy, I’ve been having fun testing it out. First, I tried using it strictly on Auto mode to get a feel for the features and the baseline of what it can do. That is how I got the Moon and Jupiter shots. I put the camera on the tripod and zoomed in some, centered, zoomed all the way to 65x.

The next day was sunny and bright. I walked by the local pond and found ducks and geese and dandelions.

 

While on that walk, I got a short video of the top of a local radio tower to show the range of zoom.

 

I approached the radio tower from a different direction to get better lighting. It is 100 meters tall (330 ft). I was amazed at the level of detail in the fully zoomed shot. No need to climb up there now to see it up close.

 

My last example is of the Sun using an eclipse viewing filter over the lens. The blue color is from the darkening filter. There is a big sunspot aimed right at the Earth. I hope it remains quiet a few more days and turns away from us.

2016_0413Sun2

 

I’m very happy with the features and how well it does on Auto setting. Next things to try are the various special settings on the dial and in the menu.

19 thoughts on “Canon Shots Fired At The Moon

  1. I really struggled with the super zoom or DSLR issue when I got my new camera. If I had decided on a super zoom, this might well have been the camera I chose. It’s going to be fun to see you explore its capabilities — it is fun to have a new “toy,” as you’ve already found.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very impressive quality.

    Photos of the moon and Jupiter are easily found on the internet these days, but taking your own imparts reality. I totally get that. Looking at the magnified limb of the moon in your picture gives me a sense of wonderment, that those craters and those shadows do actually exist in that airless silence.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve relied on that site for years as well. I don’t know any other place that has such thorough reviews. One minor drawback is that such thoroughness can delay a review for months. For example, when I got interested in the Canon 5D SR last year, dpreview initially published a short “first look” that outlined the camera’s main features. It was months before the complete review, with all the test results, appeared. By then I’d been using the camera myself for quite a while.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a lot of magnification Jim, now I feel like checking it out. I love what you’re doing. I’ll tell you what I think: eventually we’re all headed towards using lightweight cameras because we’re not getting any younger and anything over 5 lb. is too much strain on the upper extremity. I find the idea of what you’re planning to do is fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. The camera takes excellent close up and macro shots. It has a flash, plus a hot shoe for other flash equipment.

      I like the lightweight way. I don’t want to carry around heavy things.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd like to hear from you.

