Caring For Others First

The little light was blinking on the phone when we returned home last night. Bob called and left a message. It was something about crossed contrails moving in unusual directions. He is very observant and calls me to ask how I see it. It was too late to call back. So, I made a note to call in the morning.

NOAA | contrails of various ages

 

Next morning, we talked about those contrails for a while. He saw them while riding the school bus after work. Bob works for our school district with kids in junior high who have special needs. He rides the bus to assure the kids he helps get safely home. That conversation evolved into other examples he shared about the lives of parents and loved ones who are responsible for individuals with special needs.

Bob mentioned giving respite care yesterday to a family in town for their grown son. The care freed the couple so they could travel to the college graduation of their daughter several hours away. They were so grateful to be able to leave their son in safe and caring hands and join their daughter for her big day.

I asked Bob how old he was. He said he was 61. I wondered if he was in good health. Not really was his reply. He is likely to need rotator cuff surgery next year. Then, he pointed out that his brother has had cancer for several years. He described the love and care given by his brother’s wife and close family.

I complain about my problems and aches and pains as much as anyone. My conversation with Bob helped me realize that my problems in life are pretty mild compared to what is faced by many other people. I am grateful for my good health and my family. The way I see it, we should all be more aware of the needs of others and try to do something to help.

14 thoughts on “Caring For Others First

  1. Mollie got a pacemaker last Tuesday. Pain makes her a little crabby, so unlike her. So what’s she worried about now? Delayed Christmas shopping for the kids and grandkids. But I let it all flow around me, enjoying every nuance of our daily life together. Little things mean a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope the pain goes away soon and she feels better. Little things do mean a lot.

    My brother has had a pacemaker for years. It seems to keep him ticking regularly. He had issues with slow heartbeats and passing out.

    My heart on the other hand adds extra beats a lot of the time. I got a thorough evaluation with the cardiology dept at the U Iowa hospital two weeks ago. They said it was not life threatening. Limit my caffeine and stress. It will probably always be there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a nice post Jim. It makes me think of how often I can get lost with my own interests without thinking of making a pause and go a bit beyond my intellect. Knowledge is great, but our humanity must always come first.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A lovely post, and a timely reminder. I did have to laugh a bit at your introduction. For a minute, I thought we were going to be treated to a discussion of those contrails. I hear they’re responsible for everything from rising temperatures, to depression, to pancreatitis. Midnight AM radio is the best. 🙂

    Like

    • One day in Taos, NM, we stopped at a light before crossing the street. As we waited for the light, a person approached with a sign that pointed out the dangers of the chem-trails being sprayed above us. That crazy talk is all over the place.

      Like

  5. The comment “it could be worse” is so often true. Any little trouble I may have pales in comparison to the burdens many others carry. It often amazes me the fortitude they exhibit in the face of such trials.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd like to hear from you.

