Morning This Week

Up before the Sun. It rises later now.

Venus passed the Earth and is now bright in the morning sky. Welcome back.

MoonVenus1

9 Sep 2015

MoonVenus2

10 Sep 2015

moonvenus3

11 Sep 2015

moonvenus4

11 Sep 2015


One more thing…

NASA posted this as their Image of the Day for 8 Sep 2015. It shows the silhouette of the International Space Station passing in front of the Sun as viewed by Bill Ingalls. He was in Shenandoah National Park, Front Royal, VA on 6 Sep 2015 to capture it. On board were 9 astronauts traveling 5 miles per second.

NASA | Bill Ingalls | NASA astronauts Scott Kelly and Kjell Lindgren, Russian Cosmonauts Gennady Padalka, Mikhail Kornienko, Oleg Kononenko, Sergey Volkov, Japanese astronaut Kimiya Yui, Danish Astronaut Andreas Mogensen, and Kazakhstan Cosmonaut Aidyn Aimbetov.

18 thoughts on “Morning This Week

  1. There was another photo published somewhere of the ISS transiting the sun. It included a solar flare, and the photographer happened to capture the ISS right in front of the flare. If you haven’t seen it, I’ll try to track it down. It was pretty amazing.

    You’re right about the sun rising later. Since I work according to the sun, I get accustomed to waking with the sun in summer. When autumn comes, I have to make some adjustments, or my mornings are entirely too short!

    Like

    • I am interested to see that image.

      I enjoy watching the changes to the light in the house. I have a prism on a window sill that is beginning to project across the room at mid-day. The times of rise and set, the directions of the shafts of light, these are markers for the continuity of nature.

      It’s a good thing you don’t live on the coast of Alaska.

      Like

    • Yes it is. And, our cell phones have sophisticated quality cameras. My next toy is a device that lets me mount a small digital camera or my cell phone directly to the eyepiece of my telescope. No more shaky handheld shots. They work great and are not expensive.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The days are sure getting shorter. I don’t quite understand why, but it always seems like the length of the days only decreases a very small amount from one day to the next for about two months after the summer solstice, and then they seem to suddenly start decreasing a lot each day in late August.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are right. August – October have several minutes a day changes. Feb – April have increases in daylight of several minutes a day.

      The reason comes from the geometry of the tilt of the Earth as we orbit the Sun. It is hard to explain here in a comment box. I need a globe and a light bulb for a demonstration. I hope you understand.

      Like

      • Someone once tried to explain it to me mathematically. I have a vague recollection that it was some sort of logistical function. A globe and light bulb sound easier to understamd.

        Like

I'd like to hear from you.

