Venus and Jupiter | Tuesday Is Show Time

I hope you have been blessed with some clear sky conditions enough to see Venus and Jupiter in the west soon after sunset. During the recent two weeks, the pair have drawn closer together. Tuesday evening June 30, they will be 1/3˚ apart, closer than the width of a full moon. They will put on an beautiful show for us.

More details about this planetary encounter in earlier posts here and here. I wish you clear skies.

My actual view June 16, 2015. Venus is the brighter one.

2015_0616VenJupa

 

My actual view June 23, 2015. Same zoom as before.

2015_0623VenJup

 

Simulated view for June 30, 2015.

2015_0630VenJupSimu

14 thoughts on “Venus and Jupiter | Tuesday Is Show Time

      • Darn. I went out a few minutes ago to see if the planets were visible. I saw the Moon in the southeast looking quite yellow orange and up high. Odd. A check of the news and earlier visible satellite shows smoke from Canadian fired drifting down over us.

        Venus was barely visible. I got a shot of her and Jupiter hoping J would show up in the longer exposure.

        Tomorrow might be ok with 30% cloud coverage.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. My gosh! It’s been cloudy all day and evening, but I just walked into the bedroom, looked out the window, and there they are — clear as can be. It’s just beautiful. I hope you have some decent viewing, too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. We saw it so beautifully on Friday night! whilst the garden was full of fireflies and the moon waxing behind us…breath taking. We have high hopes for tonight, the weather is fine in Cincinnati! Cheers, Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Saw it! Last night and tonight. I will try to get a photo of tonight’s (over from the neighbor’s yard). Sorry your skies weren’t very clear. We have had an exceptionally dry June – not great from a precip pov but I guess the planet event compensates a bit 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m in awe of Kepler for using the apparent positions of planets like these two to figure out how the solar system really works. Copernicus thought the planets moved in perfectly circular orbits, but Kepler eventually had to conclude that the orbits were non-circular ellipses.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd like to hear from you.

