Lunar Eclipse | Tetrad Part 3 | 1 Image

The weather forecast was for clear skies before dawn and cold temperatures. The alarm went off at 5 am. Moonlight was shining in the bedroom window. I looked out to a bright full moon.

I dressed for 27˚, gathered my equipment, and a cup of coffee. The spot I had chosen was very dark. After I parked the car, I set the camera on the tripod and snapped the first photo at 5:30. The plan was to get an image every 15 minutes and paste them together into one composite. It looked like things were off to a good start.

I admired the constellation Scorpio to the south while waiting for the next photo op. As 5:45 came around, I got out of the warm car and set the camera on the tripod again. Got it. Back in the car to stay warm.

The sun was brightening the sky. I noticed a low bank of darker color below the moon in the west. Were those clouds? I waited a few more minutes. They approached and covered the moon. That was the end of my eclipse experience. I went home to see how the two images looked.

The first one was badly out of focus. The second shown below was only of so-so quality. Some clouds had already degraded the seeing.

5:45 am CDT | f/5.6 | 1/250 s | 160 ISO

5:45 am CDT | f/5.6 | 1/250 s | 160 ISO

Next chance is in late September to complete part 4 of the Tetrad. Maybe everything will go better then. I had a good time and was glad to see it.

8 thoughts on “Lunar Eclipse | Tetrad Part 3 | 1 Image

    • I ran out pretty quickly. I had a granola bar with me, too. The clouds came in and I got home earlier than planned. Brewed another cup. I don’t have more than 2 a day. The caffeine makes my heart skip beats. No danger…just annoying.

      Like

    • Thanks. We did. We drove to our family potluck dinner at the old country church my great-grandparents helped found in 1877.

      I hope your Easter was good, too.

      Like

I'd like to hear from you.

