Astro-Images | In Dorado and Orion

More examples of my attempts to make color astronomical images from three filtered greyscale ones. More details in this previous post. Click to embiggen images..

The first two images are from the constellation Dorado in the far southern skies. The third image is from the constellation Orion now gracing the night-time northern skies.

NGC 1672

Known as a barred spiral, the bright center bar of the galaxy has four spiral arms that extend outward from the ends. The spiral arms also contain bright star formation regions. Link to the APoD version from Hubble.

NGC1672

From original greyscales at Hubble Legacy Archive | J. Ruebush

NGC 1850

There are two star formation regions in this image. The larger one with many stars is about 50 million years old which is quite young from a cosmic point of view. The smaller and brighter cluster near the bottom is only 4 million years old. Stars of different age and temperature emit different colors. Link to the APoD version from Hubble.

NGC1850

From original greyscales at Hubble Legacy Archive | J. Ruebush

 

NGC 1976

Most people know of the great constellation Orion, the Hunter. Three bright stars in a row form his belt. Hanging from the belt are three more making up his sword. The middle star is also known as the location of the Orion Nebula, or m42. It is a large region of glowing gas and star formation. This image is from only a part of that nebula toward the lower right of the broader view in the APoD link from Hubble.

NGC1976

From original greyscales at Hubble Legacy Archive | J. Ruebush

 

11 thoughts on “Astro-Images | In Dorado and Orion

  1. These are beautiful images! Even I can find Orion in the sky but now I can look for his sword. And if I ever need to visit his nebula I will know where to point my spaceship =D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice, I like NGC 1850 because of the colors and that ‘galactic’ feel. I also like NGC 1672; I see a line next to the star in the upper part, why is that line showing? I also see the line again in NGC 1976, in the middle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The lines are artifacts from the imaging process, not actual things. I tried to remove the most distracting ones. But, that caused others. I left them.

      I like 1850 because of the colors, too. The stars are like jewels. Thank you for commenting.

      Like

  3. The pictures are wonderful. I don’t fully understand what is involved in creating these pictures, but I enjoy learning about the star formations and constellations, and the photography process.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Like Sheryl, I find much of the process beyond my ken, but the photos are beautiful.

    As a side note, I’ve meant to mention that I’ve been tracking Venus since you first mention the conjunction. As it turns out, I can do it even without my contact lenses in. About 4 a.m., given or take, if I happen to wake, Venus is just below the lace trim at my bedroom window. Over the next two hours, it takes a diagonal track across the window, disappearing into the treeline just before dawn. The first night I saw it, it was so bright I assumed it was a plane circling around to make a landing at Houston Hobby. When it didn’t move after ten mintes, I paid a little more attention, and realized what it was.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd like to hear from you.

