Astro-Images | NGC 604 and 1316

NGC 604

This was a tough one. Two of the greyscales were good quality and matched each other well. The third one in red was in need of quite a bit of adjustment. My end result is too red. The stars in the center should be more blue tinted. Here is the APoD image from December 11, 2012 for comparison.

Original greyscales from Hubble Legacy Archive | Click to embiggen

Original greyscales from Hubble Legacy Archive | Click to embiggen

 

NGC 1316

This image shows the dark dust lanes that are common is many astro-images. They are in silhouette with the glowing gas cloud behind. It is likely the result of a collision between galaxies. The collision disrupted the usual appearance and scattered debris around. For comparison, here is the APoD image from April 4, 2005. I was pleased with my result on this one.

Original greyscales from Hubble Legacy Archive | Click to embiggen

Original greyscales from Hubble Legacy Archive | Click to embiggen

5 thoughts on “Astro-Images | NGC 604 and 1316

  1. Though I have no understanding of the work involved, or the process used, I don’t have to in order to appreciate the beauty. Well done, and I REALLY like NGC 1316!

  2. It’s interesting, because you’re creating your own versions of these galactic events (based on real events), but coming up with original work. I think it has artistic value.

I'd like to hear from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.