Volcano | Walking the Rim

On our way to Taos, NM, we approached the cinder cone of Capulin Volcano. It is managed by the National Park Service as a national monument. It takes about 10 minutes to drive the 2 miles up the road that circles the cone. Most of the road had no guard rails. At the rim was a parking lot. We hiked the 1 mile trail around the rim which involved over 300 ft of elevation change. Then, we hiked down into the bottom of the crater about 1/4 mile. At 8000 ft elevation, we were out of breath several times. We flat landers from Iowa aren’t used to getting above 700 ft elevation.

Capulin1

On a clear day, you can see CO, NM, OK, TX, and maybe KS.

Capulin2

Click to embig.

13 thoughts on “Volcano | Walking the Rim

  1. Can you hear me laughing? Embig? That’s so wonderful, I can’t even tell you.

    The old volcano’s nice too. I remember what it was like, moving from Berkeley to Salt Lake City. Elevation does make a difference. I distinctly remember being laughed at my first night in SLC. It didn’t even take a hike into the hills for the difference in elevation to make itself felt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Neat. You’re right~ us flatlanders are not used to scary steep roads. I was a child when my family lived in the mountains, so it was a bit of a shock when I was driving those roads as an adult!

    Like

    • This road up and around the volcano had no guard rails. Sightseeing and driving was not a good idea. Actually, I like driving roads like that with curves and swerves.

      Like

I'd like to hear from you.

