Cowbird | Nearby As I Mowed

Our View From Iowa

I mowed the lawn today. During my second swath through the side yard, I noticed a small bird fly down into the clippings not very far from me. Sometimes a barnswallow will fly nearby trying to catch insects scared up by the mower. They are fun to watch as they are excellent low level flyers. But, this bird flew over and landed within two feet of the discharge side of the mower. It was getting blasted by the clippings. Now and then, it picked up something in its beak.

I stopped several times to avoid running over it. It seemed unafraid. I reached down to see if it would come to my hand. It looked cautiously and hopped a little farther away. As soon as I started moving the mower, it got right back into the clippings discharge. Strange bird with a death wish or something.

I left the mower…

View original post 70 more words

2 thoughts on “Cowbird | Nearby As I Mowed

  1. I wonder whether it was either a juvenile, as some juvenile birds are naturally inquisitive. Since birds feed after mowing a lawn, maybe this one was learning how to do it.

    Like

I'd like to hear from you.

