Comment | Do You Or Don’t You?

Browsing around to find interesting blogs, and reading those I follow, I am struck by how few comments and little dialogue follow posts that appear to be excellent and finely crafted works. The posts are engaging, thought provoking, humorous, etc. The author carefully selected their words and illustrations to make their point. Sometimes, no one comments at all. It leaves me wondering.

Thank you for your participation. Comment below if you wish.

JAR

26 thoughts on “Comment | Do You Or Don’t You?

  1. It is interesting isn’t it. I am wondering if some people just ‘like’ a post to attract more visitors to their website. On the other hand it can be overwhelming too to comment on everything you like :).

    Like

  2. Lately when I try to add a comment, I enter all of my information and click the post comment button only to receive the “Sorry, this comment could not be posted.” message. Why is that? It has already happened this morning; this is my second attempt to respond to you this morning.

    Like

    • I don’t know why that message. This one got thru, obviously. We noticed a couple of sites this morning were running very slow. Maybe there are problems that don’t involve your account.

      I hope it quits bothering you. I appreciate that you make comments. Thanks.

      Like

  3. Hi Jim, I comment as time and device permits. Frequently the nook inflicts security mode, that is no comment. No matter how much I would rather it be otherwise. And like Melissa added sometimes WP is not receptive.

    Like

    • I often use an iPad. WP is not friendly with it and other tablets. Their two stage access to ‘view original post’ is a real pain in the followup quarters.

      Thanks for your comments.

      Like

  4. I use the reader feature of wordpress.com browsing all the blogs I follow, I use the like feature first and the comment feature if I have something to say or it was a really good post. I try to comment more each day as I know it is the best way to let a blog author know you read his post.

    Like

    • That is close to how I do things. My follow list is not huge. I try to give regular and thoughtful comments when possible. Dialogue is important to me. So, I hope for something more that just a like or an ok or a thanks.

      I appreciate your comments, Greg.

      Like

  5. I find that I tend to comment only here and there, mostly out of time constraints, so I tend to “like” and come back later if I can. My knee-jerk reaction is for humor or something that is pertinent to the post like additional info or a question. I try to avoid the “atta-boy” post but will post something along those lines if the sentiment is sincere.

    Like

    • Many people are limited on time. I am fortunate to be retired and can devote more time most days. Your asking questions and additional info are appreciated, I think.

      Thanks for your input this evening.

      Like

  6. I confess I didn’t answer the poll because my answer would be: It all depends. Part of the challenge is that my blog reading time is often done on the fly – waiting for water buckets to fill, for example. That means I’m reading while on my phone and the phone doesn’t always cooperate when trying to comment (or, sometimes, liking a post, though that’s not usually as much of a problem). IF I can get a comment box to appear (no idea why this is such a challenge at times), then I am seriously limited by my thumbling around. Anything much longer than a few words is doomed and even then, by the time I’ve backed up six times and worked around autocorrect, I’m so frustrated I’m ready to throw the phone into the water bucket. I have similar issues when I use my ipad in bed (which I’m trying not to do anyway as I hear that staring at the glowing screen messes up ones circadian rhythms…) The end result is that I don’t often get to sit down and comment properly on the many blog posts I read and enjoy along the way. I feel quite bad about this state of affairs because I so enjoy the interactions I have with bloggers through the comments which, too often, are on my posts rather than theirs… The other issue is that the time I spend at my computer (where I can actually concentrate and type reasonably competently) is my designated working time (for paid writing, PR type stuff, etc.) or my chance to quickly put together a blog entry and keep up (more or less) with the comments people leave for me. I so appreciate your regular visits and feedback – it is really motivating to know there are a few people out there who swing by for a visit and a proper conversation! Thank you!

    Like

    • You raise an important issue. More and more people interface with their phone or tablet. Fewer people sit and remain on-task at a desktop. Our devices allow us to be mobile and incorporate our reading and interactions into the rest of our daily activities. We don’t compartmentalize it like we used to. And, I must confess, I am still largely in that older mode. I have a non-smart ancient phone which is OFF unless I need it when I go out. I have an old iPod that is slow. It gets limited use. And, my iPad accesses the net via wifi. I don’t carry it with me all the time. It doesn’t play well with WPress. So, I sit down for dedicated times at the desktop and do my things online.

      A former blogging experience involved users on the site that were chatty. The conversations could be lengthy. I guess that is rather unique today. Maybe I should just get used to it. Don’t expect people to do much more that ‘Visit’, ‘View’, and ‘Like’. If I get some growth in followers and some who comment regularly, be happy with that. Call it success.

      Thanks, for your insights. Now, don’t you need to feed the hens or pigs? Just kidding. 🙂

      Like

  7. This is an interesting question, Jim, and like ‘Dark Creek Farm’ above my answer would be ‘It Depends’. Time and interest are usually the main deciding factors. I enjoy dialogue, and look forward to it when posting or when reading the posts of others. Time does not always allow this.

    Some deciding factors:

    Does the blogger respond to comments? If not, a ‘Like’ is sufficient.

    How frequently does the blogger post? If daily, there’s NO WAY I have the time to read, let alone comment.

    What’s the content of the post? I enjoy photo-blogs, but how many comments of ‘Stunning image’, or ‘Great shot’ are really necessary, or interesting? Unless the photographer is particularly engaging usually a ‘Like’ is good enough.

    Do I have something to add to the information presented? This is a big deciding factor for me. No matter how interesting I find the information, if I’ve nothing to add I may go with just a ‘Like’.

    Does the blogger edit, censor, or set up a laundry list of Rules for Commenting? If so, why would I spend time writing out a comment which may end up deleted? To me, these bloggers aren’t looking for the opinions and interaction of others.

    Like

    • This is a great summary of how I generally react, too. I’ve made comments multiple times on blogs and found the blogger isn’t responsive. That gives the implication they aren’t really interested in interaction, so why should I bother? Or I may ask specific questions (as I sometimes do on quilt blogs, especially,) and while they respond minimally, they don’t answer the question. Again that leaves me feeling a little put out. And frankly, unless they’ve got a great blog, I’ve dropped following a number of those, too.

      I have no issues with comment moderation if the blogger actually does that, as in, reviews a comments and lets it post. But if my comment gets sucked into a black hole and never comes out again… never mind! I can assure you I’m not saying anything controversial.

      And I agree with you on photo blogs. Here again, quilting blogs can be bad examples of this. “Eye candy” seems to be popular with many, and guess what — I can find MILLIONS of examples of great quilts around the net, and even in my book collection, without bothering with quilters’ photo blogs. BORING!! If that’s all they have to offer, I generally don’t stick around, much less comment.

      But that’s just me…

      Like

      • I think we agree on a lot of this Melanie. As you point out, there’s no shortage of amazing photography available on-line, and on a variety of subjects. However, there are some photo-bloggers whose personality is every bit as engaging and spectacular as their photography, such as Suzanne of A Window Into The Woods, and a few others I could name.

        Like

  8. This post is a perfect example of an invitation to join a convo, and in my experience those are the blogs that get the most comments (not counting giant sites that have lots of traffic where readers hang out and dip into an article incidentally, or where there’s an established community of similar interest – I think I know the one you allude to – for me personally, I check back in there throughout the day for news, analysis, and the buffet of other topics). I don’t follow many blogs (besides that one) but the ones I do are mostly very local, such as a PNW weather meteorologist, a county bird and whale observer and my town’s news clearinghouse. The rare others are all naturalist/sciency blogs, like yours. I prefer blogs with photos or visuals, I’m a visual person and a photographer myself. There’s a seemingly infinite number out there and my time isn’t infinite. I only comment if I am likely to hear back, because my comments are always substantive, sometimes with specific questions. Some bloggers never reply, and I assume they don’t want to, for whatever reason, and the comment feature is just built into the site. The atta boy comments aren’t very useful in themselves, though I’m coming to understand they might be welcome anyway. I didn’t know there was a “like” button – duh! shoulda 😉 – I’ll make use of that. For intermittent blog posters, like my Orcawatcher, it really helps to get the email notification. That’s how I know you have a new post also. I find your posts clearly written and generally on topics of my immediate interest. I learn stuff. I know you’d like to have a wider audience for your work than your individual blog…hope that works out eventually.

    Like

    • My list of sites I follow is not huge. Many are similar to those you mentioned. I also like science and astronomy blogs. They give valuable insights into how their science gets done.

      In making and getting comments, I get a little bit more info about a person each time. I am curious and like to know what makes people tic. It builds a tiny bit at a time and eventually builds into a clearer picture of them.

      Thanks for your supportive comments about my posts. I enjoy to write and teach. I like to craft a post that delivers the story clearly.

      Like

  9. When I run across a blog in which the owner doesn’t respond to comments, I’m not disposed to leave any. Even the one time I got “Freshly Pressed” and received over 150 comments in short order, I felt obliged to reply to each one. In general I respond in kind: a brief comment usually gets a brief reply, and a thoughtful one a more-detailed reply. The only time I don’t reply (other than accidentally missing a comment) is when I’ve had a back-and-forth with someone and I let the other person have the last word. On the other hand, I’ve seen a few well-established blogs that get so many comments on every post that I can’t blame the writer for not answering them all.

    Like

    • I can count on you giving my comments a reply. I appreciate that.

      Yes, some bloggers would be kept quite busy with replies. I think they should read comments and reply to some well chosen ones if there are many.

      Thanks, Steve.

      Like

  10. Maybe many people are like me and follow too many blogs these days.

    I’ve had to give up acknowledging every comment on my own blog, cutting down reading the writing blogs as they take too much time to read, pressing every ‘like’ button and commenting on all my favourite blogs as I was spending too much time on the computer with sore eyes and not enough time outdoors in the fresh air taking photos (to post on my own PhotoBlog).
    After 3 years on the Blogasphere, there comes a time when you have to be a little more strict with your online interaction and viewing.

    Like

    • You are so right. As with all things, moderation is best.

      I never want commenting or replying to them to be a drudge. I’d rather have some interesting conversation with a few, than fluff with many.

      Thank you for taking time to stop and say what is on your mind. Enjoy your day. Go outside and get some fresh air. 🙂

      Like

I'd like to hear from you.

