Gramma Brown’s Rhubarb Pie

Our View From Iowa

I like rhubarb pie. I like to add strawberries to my rhubarb pie. I like ice cream with a piece of still-warm pie. And, this is the time of year when the rhubarb and strawberries are fresh from the garden. It doesn’t get much better. I just finished making a pie using Melanie in IA’s recipe from her Gramma Brown. It turns out a superb and always reliably delicious custard pie. Earlier in the day I went to the raspberry bushes along the tree line at the back yard and picked a quart of black raspberries. Some of them are in the pie, too. Doesn’t it look good?

I have a single rhubarb plant in this little terrace on the south side of the house. There have been two harvests this year. A third will likely come in a month. Then, it dries up.Shown below, I cut the dozen or…

View original post 381 more words

2 thoughts on “Gramma Brown’s Rhubarb Pie

I'd like to hear from you.

